EBB involves biobanks and culture collections in all the Atlantic EU member states (France, Ireland, Portugal, Spain, and UK), and one associated state (Norway).

Even though located outside the Atlantic Area, the Norwegian biobank is part of the EMBRC-Norway Node, and contributes key expertise in coordinated operation in compliance with ABS regulations, and allow for a broader coverage of European marine ecosystems and biological resources.

Universidade de Vigo (UVigo) Spain


Centro Interdisciplinar de Investigação Marinha e Ambiental (CIIMAR) Portugal

Universidad del País Vasco/ Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (UPV/EHU) Spain

Universidade do Algarve (UALG) Portugal

Sorbonne Université (SU)

Havforskningsinstituttet (IMR) Norway

Marine Biological Association of the United Kingdom (MBA) UK

Ollscoil na hÉireann Gaillimh (NUIG) Ireland


Scottish Association for Marine Sciences (SAMS) UK


National Collection of Industrial and Marine Bacteria (NCIMB) UK

Banco Español de Algas (BEA) Spain

EBB, the European Blue Biobank.